Nature’s Notes: August 11

Someone passing by saw my camera and kindly asked if I was photographing the birds. Foolishly, I admitted the truth and said I was more of an insect person. When I saw the look of horror cross his face I didn’t take the hint. Oh no. I awkwardly had to shovel on more nerd grief by pointing out the abundance of Halloween Pennants. He slowly and cautiously sidled away.

Here’s a shot of a super common butterfly in these parts. This one found the last zinnia at the community garden. The rest have faded to soft sepias and dusty pinks.

Gulf fritillary
Gulf fritillary

I only recently discovered the Halloween Pennant. When I looked it up I was told they were really common dragonflies and I scoffed. Bah. How common can they be? I never saw one before … Now, I see them everywhere.

Halloween in August
Halloween in August

It wasn’t a windy day. =/ Perhaps this dragonfly independently discovered yoga?

dragonfly yoga
the authentic dragonfly pose

Green eyes! I think this is a male carpenter bee. And anonymous ant friend.

Big Green Eyes
Big Green Eyes

Yes. Birds ARE beautiful. But …. I always did like the little things.

If you like nature photos I encourage you to check out Michelle’s Rambling Woods. Every Tuesday she hosts Nature’s Notes, a blog event that encourages us to share the natural beauty that surrounds us.

40 thoughts on “Nature’s Notes: August 11

  1. LOVE your shots…in fact, they inspired me to go out and “hunt” the bumble bees. I had no idea how hard it is to get a shot of them!! The more I admire your photos! I eventually got some – and some butterflies too. Not all great shots, but knowing how hard it is to get them on camera, they’re okay.
    …especially considering how little I seem to function in “this world” right now, being “spaced out” a lot of the time.
    I found a “Texan story” you might enjoy – being interested in different perspectives and how other connect to the world around them etc. Maybe you’ve even been to Harlingen?
    Anyway,
    Blessings !

    Like

    1. Thanks, Gia. I’d love to see some bumble bees. I’ve never visited Harlington. You linked to some powerful stories. Thanks, Gia.

      Like

  2. Enjoying your close-ups of insects. A former client loved playing with insects, first time I saw a woman do that… Funny how you scared the guy off by not taking the hint, instead delving further into the topic!

    Like

  3. I had to laugh because I noticed a tiny bee on my boneset as I was in the front yard. I always have my little LUMIX with me, but I had to do a deep knee bend and list to one side. I got the shot…sort of and then in trying to get up, fell over. Well, at least nobody saw me…. Except the group of women walking by the house. I am loving exploring insects. I love birds too, but I can explore small in my yard. You have got wonderful photos. Nothing wrong with common. So many folks don’t get to even see ODES….. I am sure you are more graceful than I am… Michelle

    Like

    1. I am so NOT graceful. hahaha I see photos of gardeners and I swear they do not share the same planet: all smiles and tidy with spotless new gloves. Me? Muddy shirt, knee scrapes, bug bites, poison ivy wounds oozing god knows what, out of control hair (probably harbouring a spider), AND lurching or contorted into an impossible posture to get a shot of that damned blue jay! No wonder people speak kindly and sidle away at the first opportunity!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my, these shots are just fantastic! The butterfly shot is absolutely stunning and that dragonfly doing acrobatics .. wow. Halloween you say, what a great name. I laughed when I read about the person sidling away .. gorgeous post as usual :D

    Like

    1. Coming from one of my favourite photogs that means a lot! Thank you. hahaha for some context behind that sidling escape see the above comment. It is all becoming clear to me now …

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, yeah. =) Aldo Leopold was so right. Nature isn’t a wilderness half a continent away: it is right here and now. This little experiment of going out and seeing what is there has been really soul opening for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Visiting someone in Tacoma at this time. We were out for a morning hike at Point Defiance Park a few days ago. Rustling in the leaves caught our attention just to our left. A Pileated woodpecker emerged and flew just over our heads onto a branch just to our right. It was only the 2nd time seeing one for me. First time for Melanie. We were thrilled.

        Like

  5. The dragonfly isn’t doing yoga. It is a cooling technique on hot days to reduce the surface exposure to the sun. I’ve had the insect photos reaction when I shop for cameras. “How do you mostly use your photo, ma’am?” “I need a camera for taking close-ups of insects.” “Riiiighttttt. Okay then. Hm.”

    These are all pretty spectacular!

    Like

    1. I look around and see what other people post so I know my photos have a long way to go but I -really- appreciate the kind words. I use a Coolpix Nikon.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello, your insects photos are just gorgeous. I love them all the birds, butterflies and the dragonflies. Anything to do with wildlife and nature is beautiful in my eyes. Great post, have a happy week!

    Like

  7. Super shots – dragonflies are not easy to capture with their translucence and iridescent bits. I spent a good half hour out in the full sun today trying to get a shot of some type of sulphur butterfly that seemed frustrated by the lack of flowers on a senna plant. By the time I gave up (3 seconds after the butterfly did) I was sweaty and annoyed and left without a good shot to show for my efforts. So when a session does work out – like yours obviously did – that is pure gold in my book.

    Thanks for the nod about Nature Notes. I’ll happily check it out!

    Like

  8. Fabulous photos. I love them. Have also spent an hour today taking photos of insects while doing my bee transect – so you are not the only one (And mine are not nearly as cool as yours). We can be nerds together!

    Like

  9. You have a really nice variety of dragonflies. Since we’ve had much more rain this year, I’ve seen a few new dragonflies, but I’ve seen a greater variety of butterflies this year. You should see how people react to not only photographing, but handling snakes.

    Like

  10. Gorgeous photos. I’ve never seen the Halloween Pennant either, but I’d love to. Got lots of Gulf Fritillaries though–’tis the summer for them, I believe. And Nature Notes is Boss.

    Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

