April Flowers So Far

This post is a just a catalogue of flowers I’ve seen in the last two weeks growing in wild places. It seems to me like an awful lot of the plants are in a big hurry to bloom this year. So mostly this is just a note to my future self. Is the order out of whack or does it just seem so? Blogging seems like a handy way of comparing notes over time.

Whoever named this the Large Buttercup wasn’t kidding. Ranunculus macranthus. The stem was easily over a foot tall.

Ranunculus macranthus
Ranunculus macranthus

Spiderworts are also in bloom.

Tradescantia

The tall deep purple variety are common but I also saw some that looked like this:

pink spiderwort
Tradescantia something or other

The more I see coots the more amusing they seem to be. This pair were swimming near what I think might have been a cluster of greenthread.

couple of coots
couple of coots

I hesitate to even try with this next one. Blue-eyed grass and … a blue-eyed grass in white form?

blue-eyed grass andGooey agarita flowers

agarita flowers

I think this next flower is a Lonicera albiflora

honeysuckle
honeysuckle

Prickly Poppy

prickly poppy

Phlox drummondii ready to unfurl

Phlox drummondii about to open

 

New To Me

Growing right next to the phlox was something I’ve never seen before …

unknown pink and white

These were growing all over a hillside by Dry Creek Drive.

unknown purple april 2015

Missouri Primrose?

mystery primrose

Another bright yellow flower seen growing on a lot of people’s lawns.

yellow flower in turf

This yellow daisy-like flower was growing everywhere near Dry Creek Drive. Yellow daisy-like flowers are like the sparrows of the plant world for me. Four nerve daisy?

yellow daisy-like flowers

So much more.

The wild grapes are in flower. As are the wild onions, bluebonnets, evening primrose, autumn sage, scarlet buckeye, purple prairie verbena, crossvine, coral honeysuckle …

So much to see in such a short period of time.

evening primrose april 2015

49 thoughts on “April Flowers So Far

  1. These are so beautiful! What a difference it makes to be further south. Right now in southern NY we just have daffodils but not much in the wild. Thanks for sharing some hope for full-on spring!

    Like

  2. I really love that last picture of the Oenothera. As for yellow daisies, have you heard the expression “Damn Yellow Composites”? Actually, I love yellow daisies, even if they are the sparrows of the flower world. Glad to see that your flowers are in a hurry to bloom, here they are taking their time.

    Like

    1. I love that phrase and will use it from now on: damn yellow composites! Our growing season is so short they all jostle for attention at the same time it seems. I am looking forward to seeing your garden wake up in all its glory.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful blooms! The third picture of the “New To Me” section is definitely a Primrose. The next picture is a Texas Dandelion (Pyrrhopappus pauciflorus). :)

    Like

      1. You are very welcome, Debra! The first picture is a spurred snapdragon, and the second picture looks like a relative of the California bluebells from the “New To Me” photos. Since these two grow also in my greenhouse, I did some research. And it just so happens, they are in your set, too. ;)

        Like

    1. Thank you. It is such a trade off: up north the flower come out later but last longer. Not sure which situation I prefer ….

      Like

  4. Whatever shutter speed you used for the coots was just right for me. I like the way it captured the ripples and added texture to the photo.

    Like

  5. Oh Debra, your photos are stunning! Do you have a macro lens? Or just the macro feature on your camera. Beautiful captures.

    I know our spring wildflowers are gorgeous, especially this year, but I hope folks can appreciate the other flowers that bloom, in the depths of summer too–the variety might not be as great or diverse, but they are no less lovely, especially given the conditions of our summers.

    But, spring, is pretty great as your photos suggest!

    The yellow that you see in lawns is probably Calylophus berlandieri, http://www.wildflower.org/plants/result.php?id_plant=CABE6. I fell in love with one that was planted at the Green Garden at ZBG when I worked there. I was unsuccessful at growing them in my garden (too heavy soil? not enough sun?), but they are sweet and lovely plants. There is also Calylophus drummondii more commonly found in nurseries, but I think that’s a cultivar. I failed at that one too. :)

    Like

    1. Thanks, Tina. I just use the macro feature on the camera and must admit to being pretty much like a cave-person when it comes to understanding how the thing works. Trial and error. Lots of toss aways for one keeper shot … I would like to learn more or at least remember what works and what doesn’t. Thanks for the encouragement though. It is turning out to be a rewarding hobby.

      I am looking forward to the summer flowers and judging by the sudden burst of hot temps I won’t have to wait long. =)

      Thanks for the identification. And there is that Berlandier name again! He was a fascinating guy.

      Like

  6. First and foremost – GORGEOUS photos. Seeing all these almost makes up for not being able to get our and roam around much on my own this time of year. And..ha ha – you ALMOST got me – lured me into embarrassing myself, trying to identify mystery plants but nope, not even gonna try.

    The growing season here is super short but I don’t think that is new or news. It is my impression most native plants adapted long ago to the accelerated pace. Those are my non-scientific impressions at least. I can tell you this from years of experience: by the time the oak pollen has exited stage left, so have the vast majority of flowers.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I am so so sorry about your allergies. What you say about the growing season makes sense. They have adapted to that little time window and it makes for a spectacular display. I had family visiting from Canada just at the peak and they left with a positive impression and greater appreciation for prairie landscapes. But as Tina notes — we also have lovely summer flowers and surrounding those is a lot of wildlife drama. Sure hope you are starting to feel better.

      Like

      1. I see somebody already suggested a spurred snapdragon for one of your mystery blooms but I don’t see the “spurs” and was thinking it might be Wild Sweet Pea/Lathyrus venosus (aka Veiny pea)? You can check out the image in the NPIN here:
        https://www.wildflower.org/gallery/result.php?id_image=27909

        I remember seeing some growing wild around Lake Buchanan years ago and wondering if there was any way to snag a seedling, but couldn’t find any. Whatever it is, it is gorgeous!

        Like

        1. Oh. Thanks for that link. The wild sweet pea is gorgeous! The Wildflower Center suggests it likes oak-hickory woods so I think it might do well here as long as it gets some moisture. I’m definitely putting that one of the ‘must try’ list.

          Like

  7. So wonderful! We haven’t been out yet (!!!) but we wouldn’t have that much flowering here yet, anyway. I love the poppies and primroses. The something growing next to phlox looks almost like a snapdragon-y thing. Lovely pix. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

