The Persimmons LIED

Late in summer last year I dissected some persimmon seeds to see their winter weather prediction. They unanimously insisted winter would be colder than normal. While winter came a bit earlier and thankfully has been a bit wet the temperatures have been more than mild to say the least. My brugmansia, for example, is still green. The non-native plants in my garden are in celebration mode.

First ornamental quince blossom of the year …

DSCN9319
Chaenomeles, the ornamental quince

A Gerbera daisy that sulked all summer has decided it will bloom now. hahaha Why?

sullen daisy
sullen daisy

The fringe flower trees (they are supposed to be shrubs but I am bad at pruning things) have been blooming most of the month. They don’t really like the clay soil but since they have somehow survived my neglect I like them a lot. Yes, my heart can be bought that easily.

DSCN9334

When we moved here I planted a viburnum hedge to make a secret garden. It started out great but had some trouble adapting when the drought didn’t go away. Somehow, most of the shrubs survived but there were some gaps created by the weaker members. This year it looks like those gaps have finally closed and the whole thing is covered in flower buds. My husband and Chloris don’t like their scent but I think they smell like honey.

DSCN9314

Not a flower but I like how glossy the berries are in this next photo. This next plant THAT WILL NO LONGER BE SHOWN (haha) is native. Contrary to the rumours you have heard the berries are sweet and good to eat. You can almost see my reflection. I can just imagine the TV CSI guy saying: Can you zoom in on that image and enhance? I hope not. I was wearing my pyjamas at the time.

21 thoughts on “The Persimmons LIED

  1. It’ s not the smell of the flowers that I object to. It is the smell of the leaves when they are wet. Absolutely disgusting. But you don’ t get much rain do you?

    Like

    1. Ooops. Sorry about misrepresenting you. =/
      My husband however really doesn’t like the flowers. I once made him stuff his nose into a cluster and he wasn’t happy at all.

      Like

    1. Thanks =) I don’t know where I can go in my relationship to them now. Such a betrayal leaves little room for future trust

      Like

  2. Wow Debra great news on your mild winter and these blooms. We are cold here again…much below normal in temp and snowfall so that is one good thing.

    Like

    1. Well and of course after I posted that I heard about the mega storm on the east coast. Hope you all can stay warm and safe.

      Like

  3. A very fun post! I have been wondering about this winter. Perhaps the perssimons were preparing for the worst and hoping for the best. This week they say we will be in the 70’s in Houston. After weekly rain it is gorgeous with deep blue skies. My favorite time of year. My roses are blooming and the the first of the daffodils are opening with nice bright yellow blooms. And no hard freezes so far : ) Guess we have to wait for Ground Hogs day to be sure, LOL!

    Like

    1. I think they did that on purpose so I won’t ever mutilate their seeds again. heh. The weather has been in the 70s here, too. I’m only at the paperwhite stage but there have been some interesting things happening with wildlife. No spoilers, saving that for my next post.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. And a good thing. We’ve had a mostly very mild winter so far. A very modest amount of snow. I’m convinced this is because I paid a guy IN ADVANCE to come by and clear my driveway, sidewalk,etc. Hard for me to do because I am gone so much in January and February.

    Like

  5. Perhaps we should have warned you – persimmons are known to be duplicitous at best. Probably taking that sweet/sour thing to an extreme, you know?

    Gorgeous photos! Though it has been mild in between, the freezes here west of town have bitten the usual suspects pretty significantly so far. That said, I have bluebonnets setting blooms and you’d think they’d know better. Maybe all this rain holds the promise of two blooming periods rather than one (or something planty like that) so everybody is getting a jump start? The fact I know no science here really opens up the possibilities.

    Like

  6. Guess what we have in Iowa this morning. It snowed an inch. It will melt by late tomorrow. No polar vortex this time.

    I will see what I can do with that berry and your PJs. Be back in a while. :-)

    Like

  7. I has been mild, hasn’t it? I’ve only had one “hard” freeze in my garden and yet the herbaceous perennials are still green-stemmed or green-bottomed, so no real die-back. The wet has been good though.

    All your photos are great, but that last one of the berries–spectacular! Nice quince blossom–hadn’t seen any of those yet. At ZBG adjacent to the parking lot (south side) there’s a stand of 3 large, mature quince trees. What a show they produce each winter!!

    Like

    1. Quince aren’t native but they are pretty well adapted. The ones growing here were probably planted by the original owner. They get absolutely no supplemental watering and as you can see from the photo, they live in an area with very little light. My neighbours have one growing where they actually get some sunlight and the show is spectacular. When the time comes I intend to get a few photos.

      Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

