That time of year …

That time of year thou mayst in me behold
When yellow leaves, or none, or few, do hang
Upon those boughs which shake against the cold,
Bare ruin’d choirs, where late the sweet birds sang …
Hold up. Stop the poet. This just in …
According to the evening primrose, winter is sooo last season …
evening primrose unfurling
evening primrose

Saw a fluffy topped thistle.and took its photo because yes I -do- like weeds.

fluffy thistle top
random thistle

Found these wild onions growing in a nice shady place.

wild onions
wild onions

But just look at this total outlier! I’m calling it. First real spring blossom of the year. January 16 and the sweet clover is in full bloom. The scent really is intoxicating and one of my favourites. Seeing these before even the henbit leaves me feeling a bit astonished.

sweet clover
sweet clover

 

21 thoughts on “That time of year …

    1. It was such a beautiful day today. All that sun made the picture taking pretty darn easy but thx for the encouragement. February can get cold but I honestly think we are past the worst.

      Like

  1. I’ve got bluebonnet rosettes behaving as if it is March just across town. Something’s afoot!

    Lady – your shots! So crisp and clean and glowing. I’ll be back to soak these in some more, the next cloudy day.

    Like

    1. One of my neighbours has a lawn that is bright green right now. Absolutely crazy. I know I should mistrust what I am seeing but. but. but … and thanks =)

      Like

    1. A person can often see one or two primroses acting out of turn but the clover? It normally blooms here in May. I know that plants are blooming erratically because of climate change but seeing a May flower in January is mind-blowing.

      Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

