Wildlife Wednesday: November

Wildlife Wednesday is hosted by Tina from My Gardener Says. Hope you can join in.

I feed the birds (and squirrels) everyday but I never get any photos because I have the bird feeder in a stupid place. So you will not see the charming tufted titmouse or the entertaining cardinal family. No blue jays. No wrens. No little brown birds of any kind. Not even the bickering doves that show up everyday.

Those poor few people who routinely look at this blog are probably groaning inwardly. “Oh, no. That can only mean one thing: yet another boring picture of a mockingbird perched on a tree branch against a flat blue sky.”

No mockingbirds this time I promise. And only one grackle …

He looked so outraged I blushed and quickly left the scene. Sorry little dude.

grackle head
outraged grackle

I really am beginning to feel like some kind of creepy stalker. But. Look at this lovely bathing beauty. How could anyone pass by a scene like this and not look? I understand Greek myths just a little bit better.

great egret
great egret

It glowed in the sunlight. Many, many people walked past and didn’t even give it a second glance. I know they are common birds but I think they are uncommonly beautiful.

great egret
great egret
great egret
great egret

I wasn’t the only one watching this egret. Immediately to its right there was a huge sun worshipping turtle … fresh from the muck …

chicken turtle downtown
red eared slider maybe?

Immediately to the turtle’s right was a blue heron …

blue heron
blue heron

and so on … and so on ….

hello ducky
hello ducky

It seemed like everyone was watching everyone else. But mostly I think they were watching the creepy stalker. =/

Sceloporus olivaceus (I think)
Moulting Sceloporus olivaceus (I think)

Everyone but this little coot who was mesmerized by something far more grand:

coot
coot
14 thoughts on “Wildlife Wednesday: November

    1. Thanks. I like those big lizards because of their sass. I never thought of that. You could be right. I usually have a small procession of grackles behind me as I rake so why not throw in a lizard, too.

      Like

  1. Egrets are common over there? Lucky you, he is beautiful. I love your Grackle too and your sweet lizard. And a turtle? How wonderful to have turtles. Please keep on stalking.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Chloris. Now that TexasDeb tells me I am projecting my emotions onto these guys I feel more comfortable in doing so hahaha

      Like

    1. Aren’t they lovely? We are so blessed to live in a time and place where this is possible, I was so surprised to see we both were featuring the same bird. Neat coincidence!

      Like

  2. Ha – so many creatures totally do look annoyed, don’t they? I never really stopped to think about why but now I wonder if that is our brain’s way of interpreting their focused eyes without the cues we usually take from a mammal’s lower facial features (cheeks, mouth and muscles surrounding)? Fascinating.

    If I had to choose a favorite here (and I’m relieved not to!) it would be a runoff between the heron and the coot. One so graceful and the other so…not. Fortunately I can simply enjoy them all because these are some winners all around. Including their stalker.

    Note to self: You gotta get OUT in other wild spaces more!

    Like

    1. Thanks again for your kind words. The egret, heron and turtle were all hanging out at Lady Bird Lake one afternoon during the Texas Book Festival. Every time I visit the lake I marvel over what a gem it is. We are lucky people.

      Like

  3. Wow! You have lots to share! I don’t know which photo is my favorite–the grackle? Or the lovely egret? Or that lizard? I love those Texas spiny lizards. I don’t have any in my gardens, but they were all over the Green Garden at ZBG and I just love them! And the coot–cute little coot. Thanks so much for participating in Wildlife Wednesday!

    Like

    1. I enjoy your blog event a lot. It is a lot of fun. I love that lizard. He lives on my oldest pecan tree. And by that I mean I see him there frequently. He was watching me rake leaves for the longest time. I couldn’t tell if I was the source of his annoyance or it is was the flaking skin …

      Liked by 1 person

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

