Propagating Native Plants: Texas Persimmon

texas persimmon 2Texas persimmon is notorious for being a slow growing shrub. I am probably going to have to speak to a mental health professional for even trying this. Mine should reach 3 feet tall within 5 years.

Worth the wait I think. Though most places suggest it is a sun lover I have seen this plant thriving as an understory shrub. Everything about it is perfect. Not only is it drought tolerant but it forms a nice shape, has fragrant flowers and produces a delicious fruit. Even the bark is pretty.

When to sow: Late summer or fall. Dry years will not produce viable seed.

Special treatment: I removed the seeds from some fruit and soaked them in water overnight because I read that the fruit may contain an inhibitor.

Fresh or dried seed: Fresh

Planting depth: 1/4-1/2 inch deep in moist potting soil.

Preferred temperature for germination: Mine germinated in very warm conditions: >75 degrees F. Close to 100% germination.

Days to germination: About 30.

Vegetative propagation: Root cuttings are possible.

* The Purdue University Cooperative Extension Service gives very different advice which might be of use to those living in a cooler climate.

Seed must be kept for 60-90 days at 50°F under moist conditions to obtain good germination, or seed may be planted in the fall and permitted to stratify naturally in the ground over winter.
8 thoughts on “Propagating Native Plants: Texas Persimmon

  1. I never ate one either, but it would be fun to have one growing, although mine would be indoors. I did grow a lemon tree once inside in a contemporary house with a two story atrium with all window surround. It was nice to get a few lemons.

    Like

    1. =) That’s funny you would mention that. I also have a little lemon tree that I started last year. Well, the compost bin did most of the work. I just put it in a pot. I have no idea what I will do with it eventually.

      Like

    1. Thanks! I knew what I was looking for otherwise I am certain I would have missed them. The ripe fruit is black and kind of hides in the shadows.

      Like

    1. They sure are beautiful. Ever since I discovered them this spring I’ve been obsessed with the idea of making a kind of hedge row with them.

      Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

