Propagating Native Plants: Pigeonberry

Rivina humilis berries
Rivina humilis berries

Rivina humilis is considered invasive in some places but I think that in Austin it is a reasonably well behaved ground cover plant. Most of the sources I read said the plant is easy to grow from seed and widely dispersed by birds yet I couldn’t pin down some details. One place summed the situation up like this:

There is a lack of information on many aspects of this species, including its germination behaviour, its phenology in early stages of establishment, the longevity of the seeds, seed production and …

I guess I will just collect some seeds and wing it.

When to sow: In the spring after the last frost.

Special treatment: Collect berries when red and perhaps overripe. Clean and dry the seeds. They can be stored.

Fresh or dried seed: Dried

Planting depth: ?

Preferred temperature for germination: ?

Days to germination: ?

Vegetative propagation: Stem cuttings in spring.

Rivina humilis flowers can be pink or white
Rivina humilis flowers can be pink or white
4 thoughts on “Propagating Native Plants: Pigeonberry

    1. =/ Darn. I have mostly seen it growing in shady riparian areas but have to admit not abundantly. I think they do a lot better the further south a person goes.

      Like

  1. I am impressed at your commitment to growing all these native plants from seed. I have multiple pigeon berry plants here – I originally used them in one of my children’s garden spaces around a condo patio where they naturalized and essentially performed as a ground cover. That made me decide to try them out in my own spaces. So far I have only bought them in 4 inch pots – but they’ve hung in there and I am optimistic they’ll reseed and/or spread by the roots…

    I am currently dealing with truly invasive plants for our area (ruellia for one and privet for another). Pigeon berry ain’t one of those!

    Like

    1. Thanks! It has become a bit time consuming gathering seed and then trying to parse out who to believe on the details but the hunt is also lot of fun. Now I KNOW my plants are indigenous and appropriate. Privet! I have seedlings everywhere all the time and in quantities that astound me. It is a good thing they are easy to uproot or I’d despair.

      Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

