Propagating Native Plants: Rain Lily

Updated

rainflower4
Cooperia pedunculata aka Zephyranthes drummondii

This spring I greedily gathered seed from the rain lily that lives snugged up against the concrete curb and scattered them willy nilly hoping that I might have more MORE MOAR rain lilies. This is how I romantically pictured myself (minus the hat):

Vincent van Gogh The Sower, 1888.  © Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam
Vincent van Gogh The Sower, 1888. © Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam

As far as I can tell nothing happened. The Johnny Appleseed technique did not work. Here. For me. So this time I will give the seeds some tender care because I really do want more MORE MOAR rain lilies.

When to sow: As soon as possible after collection. The seed cannot be stored.

Special treatment: None as far as I can tell but after the seeds germinate keep the new plants moist until the leaves reach a length of several inches to avoid forcing the little plants into dormancy.

Fresh or dried seed: Fresh only

Planting depth: Sow on potting soil. Cover lightly with sand.

Preferred temperature for germination: unknown to me

Days to germination: 2-4 weeks

Vegetative propagation: Rain lilies grow from bulbs and can be divided. Plant 4 inches deep to increase the number of bulbs; 8 inches deep for more abundant flowers.

For more detailed information: Aggie Horticulture: Growing Rain Lilies from Seed by Cynthia Mueller

Update:

These seeds really were easy to germinate.

Planted September; sprouted October 1. Looks like close to 100% germination.
Day temperatures ranged from 86-91; evening temperatures 60-74.
The media was potting soil covered with plastic wrap set in indirect light.

rain lily seedling
rain lily seedling
2 thoughts on “Propagating Native Plants: Rain Lily

  1. I sprinkle seed from each lily bloom’s seed pod as I can (the deer like to eat them and often get there first). It seems to me the germination rate is very low that way but I do get new lilies eventually. Probably because other conditions were “just so”. These are wonderful experiments and again, I’ll be watching carefully because yes yes yes. MOAR lilies!

    Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

