A New Colourful Meeting Spot in Town … The Texas Kidneywood

The Texas Kidneywood is a popular and colourful meeting spot these days! Most of the plants at Willowbrook Reach have finished flowering and are putting their energy into growing seeds and fruit. Any chance for nectar from the few remaining flowers probably dried up long ago so I imagine these fresh blossoms must look like an oasis for pollinators.

couple of bugs
On the left is a large milkweed bug (Oncopeltus fasciatus). On the right is Atteva aurea — a kind of ermine moth.

Texas Kidneywood is a fast growing native shrub/small tree. It doesn’t need much water and can survive a serious drought by dropping its leaves. The flowers have a lovely clean scent like clover. If my patio had more sun I would love to grow one. bliss.

Oncopeltus fasciatus with wings extended
Oncopeltus fasciatus with wings extended

Besides the greater milkweed beetle and moth, I also saw two tarantula hawks. I wonder where their lair is and if we will see more next year. Their blue undersides have a matte texture like crushed velvet.

tarantula hawk
tarantula hawk
tarantula hawk
tarantula hawk
tarantula hawk on kidneywood
tarantula hawk on kidneywood

Close by at the creek  I FINALLY got a picture of one of the bright green dragonflies I’ve seen flitting about all summer. The Eastern Pondhawk may be common but I think they are prettier than emeralds. The females are green; males blue. I’ve been chasing them for weeks! Not exactly in focus but these girls don’t like to loiter for long.

It has been a magical year for dragonflies. I haven’t seen any of the fushia pink ones that are supposed to live in Austin but I swear I must have seen everything else: including a metallic golden one that actually glinted in the sun.

female Eastern Pondhawk (Erythemis simplicicollis)
female Eastern Pondhawk (Erythemis simplicicollis)

At home my brugmansia opened its first blossom. This will probably make no sense but when I breathe it in, the scent floods my mind in several directions all at once: high, low and medium notes all at once. I am temporarily blinded as my tiny brain tries to parse it all out. Is this what it is like to be a dog at a stop sign? My husband is more succinct. He said it reminds him of peonies: rich and complex.

brug2The scent is much stronger at night attracting night fliers like this little guy seen lingering on one of the POISONOUS leaves in the morning. First the anole and now this guy. Maybe I need to put up a sign.

firefly
firefly

in profile …

firefly September 2014
firefly September 2014

I am kind of astonished that I have become a bug-person. I used to be really squicked out by insects when I was a girl. But really: arthropods are so amazing and so beautiful once you get to know even a bit about their world. Kind of hard NOT to appreciate them, really.

8 thoughts on “A New Colourful Meeting Spot in Town … The Texas Kidneywood

  1. Such wonderful bugs – they are like jewels with wings, don’t you think? Your photos of them are beautiful which is only respectful, they are so glamorously colored. At times I wonder if some of the bugs in my garden have any idea there are places where bugs live and are NOT photographed, ever. Not once…

    Like

    1. hahaha I -DO- feel a bit like a crazed paparazza. Mostly, they don’t seem to mind. The ones that do are speedy enough to escape my attentions.

      Like

  2. What amazing bugs you have over there. I wonder why they need to be so colourful. Lovely photos too. I’ m glad you’ be taken the time to observe and photograph these lovely creatures.

    Like

  3. I love the leaves on the Kidneywood tree. Your bug photos are excellent. The all have such beautifully colored bodies. I too have come to enjoy looking at insects much more as I have slowed down and stopped to observe.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Laurin! It really is a lovely shrub. I wish I had enough sun to grow it. The leaves have a nice lacy texture. I can imagine it looking quite nice in a large pot. As for bugs … they bring movement and colour that can compete even with birdlife. =) well nearly …

      Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

