More Signs of Autumn’s Approach

anole nose
anole nose

Today I saw our lovely anole balanced near the top of the brugmansia. Danger! Danger! Doesn’t he know they are poisonous? I guess when you look that good you can imagine yourself as immortal.

Under his immortal-ness’ perch, the brugmansia was showing off some flower buds. They look a little bit like bananas. This shrub was a gift. When I got it this spring it was a couple of feet high. Now it towers over my head. NOT xeric. I cannot believe what a water pig it has been.

This is a true sign of autumn. It shows the temperatures are finally starting to drop. I cannot WAIT to see and smell the flowers =)

brugmansia
brugmansia

Perhaps I caught a touch of the anole’s madness because soon after I strangely felt compelled to risk a touch of heat stroke. I waited until the hottest time of day to go for a walk by the creek and left without first camel-ing up some water. Blargh. I am still sweating.

Even if I hadn’t seen so many fruits I probably could have guessed we are getting closer to fall just based on the number of bee collisions. I literally ran into about five. Based on their robust size they were probably carpenters but there could have been a bumble or two. I tried to get pictures but they were all frantically flying (mostly) overhead.

I think this is a Mexican Plum. I love the colour of the fruit whatever it is.

plum sept 2014

Turk’s Cap was blooming in large patches looking pretty enough to make me wonder why I thought they would be hard to grow. Some have already started to set fruit. I’ve heard it is edible and think it must be pretty tasty since most of the fruits I saw had bite marks. AKA Mexican Apple. I have heard it tastes a bit like cucumber.

Turk's Cap
Malvaviscus drummondii flower
Malvaviscus drummondii
Malvaviscus drummondii fruit

Another fruit: wild chili peppers. This plant is a really pretty shrub with multi-season interest. Unfortunately, it is allergic to my pecan trees. Maybe next spring I will try it as a container plant.

Capsicum annuum
Capsicum annuum

And then I saw what I am guessing is a Mexican Buckeye. It had leaves like an ash but every ash I ever knew had flat winged seeds; these looked more like Alien heads. I had to look this one up. Poisonous, apparently. Glad I didn’t try to taste it even though I was REALLY REALLY thirsty. hahaha

mystery tree

12 thoughts on “More Signs of Autumn’s Approach

  1. I’m glad it’s cooling off there, here it is still hot and humid. This is the first summer in my history that I remember having an entire humid summer in So. California. Love the plants, and of course the wildlife is fabulous!

    Like

  2. What a beautiful walk, send some heat my way and thanks for finding me:) what a great site, I grow weeds best and water has been plentiful here in NY, too much this summer! Kim

    Like

  3. Fall is falling, isn’t it? Change is in the air. Texans often persist in behaving as if the weather has changed drastically though it really has only changed…just a little… Impatient types will go out, residual heat or no. I do believe you have become an honest-to-goodness Texan, Deb!

    I have one well established bird chili pepper plant (protected from deer). It comes back (and back) in part sun. I hope you’ll audition one again. The peppers are quite lively but the birds don’t care – apparently they don’t experience the heat from capsicum the way humans do. So squirrels leave those peppers be and birds feast all they wish (along with a few brash humans who pickle them in vinegar..). A lovely shrub and xeric to boot, Happy Fall!

    Like

    1. I have tried to grow it nearly every year and failed every time. Only this year did I discover the reason. It is truly a beautiful plant.

      Me? Honorary Texan. Who knew! thx ;)

      Like

      1. All great plants, Debra–well maybe not the “water pig.” He, he! I love the bird chili plant too–I find them so graceful and I just love the little peppers–not to eat, just to look at. My Hub eats them though. He’s weird that way. Your photos are so beautiful!

        Like

        1. Thanks so much, Tina. That means a lot coming from you. Yeah … the water pig. I’ve been trying to use grey water when possible but I keep worrying a Fremen will walk by and give me the stink eye. I am determined to someday successfully grow the bird chili. I LOVE spice.

          Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

