Willowbrook Reach Flowers (September)

Not much to say today. I just wanted to share some photos of pretty things I saw at Willowbrook Reach today. Though day-time temperatures continue to blaze, many of the wildflowers were soothing purples, pinks and blues.

bindweedThe giant ragweed has really taken off — up to eight feet tall in some places but fear not — the purple bindweed is on the job.

This combination made me consider adding mistflower to my garden. It will tolerate some shade. Plus I saw an enormous bumble bee sputtering around. Fall flowers are so welcome for bees.

Conoclinium greggii and Commelina erecta
Conoclinium greggii and Commelina erecta
Ruellia wild petunia
Ruellia wild petunia

And then I saw a peppervine! My attempt to grow some from seed this spring was a total failure so it was nice to see one not only flowering but with berries in all stages of development. Unfortunately, the photos only hint at just how beautiful it was.

Ampelopsis arborea
Ampelopsis arborea
Ampelopsis arborea
Ampelopsis arborea
peppervine3 sept 2014
Ampelopsis arborea

Complementary Colours

I did see flowers and berries from the other side of the wheel: turk’s cap, chili pequin, sumac berries …

and a flower that was new to me. The partridge pea:

Chamaecrista fasciculata
Chamaecrista fasciculata
partridge pea 1 sept 2014
Chamaecrista fasciculata

Alamo vine pods just ‘cuz.

alamo vine pod Merremia dissecta
alamo vine pod Merremia dissecta

A really weird seed pod! Identification help, please. The leaves looked just like the partridge pea’s but this is like NO pea pod I’ve ever seen.

seedpodTrigger Alert

The scariest vine. Really. It looks freaking cancerous …

do

not

scroll

down

without taking a deep breath first

Toxicodendron radicans
Toxicodendron radicans

The horror.

4 thoughts on “Willowbrook Reach Flowers (September)

  1. Thx for the kind words. I haven’t given up the peppervine dream yet. =) I can see how a person might mistake the two vines. And hellz yeah that is scary. What is that cobalt blue stuff?!? I swear it looks like a nucleus. If poison ivy ever develops a brain we’re done for.

    Like

  2. Phew. Thanks for the warning – that last image is quite frightening!

    True confession: I often get peppervine and poison ivy confused (peppervine looks like “leaves of three” to me!). I actually have some peppervine, (and unfortunately, poison ivy too) growing here though the peppervine doesn’t seem to ever set “peppers” (maybe because I so often mistakenly dig it out?). Your shots of the berries are great – so gorgeous – and a good reminder I need to get my plant ID sorted out!

    Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

