32 thoughts on “My account got suspended

  1. That’s terrible! I’m sorry to hear that happened to you. I hope you won’t stop blogging here; I really enjoy your articles. In fact, I was thinking of you yesterday because my mom’s cactus had what turned out to be “cochineal scales” (totally gross insects!) But I thought, “I wonder if Debra would know a non-toxic way to get rid of these…” Anyway, good luck with WP and count me among your supporters!

    Like

    1. wow. Thanks for saying so. =) I have seen those bugs before. If there aren’t many you could probably hose them off or remove them with a spoon or something. Good luck! But — factoid warning — you can make a dye from them. The dye used to be one of the most valuable exports from Mexico back in the day. Here’s link to a do-it yourself project. Now you’ve inspired me to go for a walk to harvest some.

      Like

  2. Wow, I’m incredulous that you got banned. I was wondering what happened when I tried to read your post yesterday and all I got was an error message. As a scholar, I am pretty fanatical about sourcing my info as well, and I am angry that WP would punish you for doing the ethical thing in including your sources. I’m so sorry this happened to you.

    Like

    1. Thanks. I still don’t understand their reasoning but as someone else said it is their site so they can make the rules — haha — even if they seem random and arbitrary.

      Like

    1. I don’t get it either. The part that really puzzles is they wanted me to remove the link but including the actual content was somehow ok. shrug

      Like

    1. Thanks, Linda. I have really enjoyed WordPress. They have some great features. Are those features worth the trade off? I’m not sure. I won’t stop blogging whether I stay or go. Thinking about leaving has helped me clarify what I would like to change about my blog, too.

      Like

  3. I’m totally confused. As I’m sure you are. It has the feeling of a drive-by shooting. Terrifying and random.

    So, WP asked you to take down the link. Did they explain why? If it were me, I’d want to know exactly what line was crossed so I didn’t do it again. I mean, don’t penalize me for doing something “wrong” without teaching me how to do it “right.”

    As far as I can tell by what you’ve written here, your linking to the demographic site seems not only acceptable and legit, but mandatory.

    I repeat, I’m confused.

    Like

    1. They did not explain why. I asked and am waiting for a reply. And it is distressing to not know what the error was. It was also embarrassing! Banned for being a spammer!

      Like

  4. I got auto suspended a while back and WP investigated and said it was a mistake. I was so pissed I was just gonna stop blogging here, but I wanted to know why it happened. No big deal I guess, it was at the time but I’m over it. I have a Beatles news blog at BlogSpot, I like their set up over there.

    Like

    1. I was mostly surprised because there are just so many commercial sites and real spammers here. I couldn’t figure out what I had done wrong. I still don’t understand why I can’t link to a site that I found using a search engine. But whatever. It gave me time to think about changes I would like to make with this blog anyway.

      Like

        1. Tons of spammers and a good chunk of users at WordPress unapologetically use their sites to sell things, promote themselves or link to commercial sites. The eye of big pharma sees more than Sauron himself.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I think Timothy is probably correct. Someone reported it perhaps the people that you linked to. You can always re-blog and just put name of source with out the live link. I don’t think WP even investigates…which means anyone can take you down : (

    Like

    1. WordPress did investigate. I received an email from them asking me to remove the link which I did. The experience has left me a little in awe. I mean there are eleventy billion WordPress sites that really are spam and many many promoting products but those carry on. It is a good thing I’m not Alex Jones or I’d be feeling terribly paranoid right now. hahaha

      Like

  6. Beautiful photo! I can understand WP’s point of view it the URL goes to a commercial website, not simply an article or another blog post. I would suspect someone reported the link as spam, more than WP staff just noticing. If you were citing an article, especially if it were a scientific or a scholarly article then WP is out of line. But WP offers their basic blog services for free so they can call the shots as they see them.

    Like

    1. It is their site and they can do what they want I guess. I didn’t get reported. As soon as I pressed publish their automatic system suspended me.

      Like

          1. Since your link was about pet medications, the issue can probably be traced back to the war on drugs. I’m sure WP has been given a list of key words, URL’s, etc. to be on the look out for.

            Like

            1. It was to a site that sells info about consumer demographics. Companies want to know more about us than we can know about ourselves. All that info they scoop up about us is proprietary I guess.

              Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

