I is for Indigofera and Ice Bear

A double header today for the A-Z Challenge

Indigofera

indigofera
image from http://statebystategardening.com/state.php/carolinas/hotplants/chinese_indigo/

Ok. So all you people from Austin are probably going to laugh at me but this year I decided to grow indigofera. Doesn’t your tongue just love to say that? in-di-go-fer-a Yet, already I can hear your thoughts coming at me from across the aether.

Me vs The Vile Thoughts of Reason:

TVTOR: What in the world …. who wants to grow a weed?

Me: Three words, friends: Nitrogen, Pretty and Shade.

TVTOR: But it will take over

Me: Pish. Take over. You say that like it is a bad thing. Plants that are too happy may be a problem for people like YOU with soil and sunlight but that “problem” (ahem) isn’t an experience I share. haha (obvious bravado)

TVTOR: The one you have growing here isn’t native. Is it Indigofera tinctoria? At least you could use it to make indigo.

Me: Uh no. But it has flowers! And someone on Dave’s Garden said it will grow in the shade. In Austin.

TVTOR; (shakes head sadly)

Each day I go out into the back yard to admire it. Today it looks like a miniscule thing with three pathetic leaves but I say unto you:  Three leaves today. TOMORROW THE WORLD!

Ice Bear

bear
Ice Bear

I’ve heard it said that people don’t care about polar bears. That sharing stories about animals just doesn’t grip people’s imaginations or help them understand why they should care about all the issues threatening our planet. People only care about people the argument goes.

I am not convinced. What do you think would happen if we put cats on the posters, instead? We’d probably have a revolution.

pye
Pyewackett, knows all about hunger games. picture by Anonymous

 

 

 

31 thoughts on “I is for Indigofera and Ice Bear

  1. Weeds are in the eye of the beholder, I think. So many “weeds” have ancient, barely remembered medicinal uses, and eating your landscape helps with immunity, I’m told. I’m headed out to munch on the wisteria.

    Like

                1. Sorry. I am a total noob at this blogging stuff so I am guessing yes but unable to actually give directions. ty for the interest though. I’ll poke around the dashboard and see … oh look a magic widget. Done.

                  Like

  2. Bear posters with cats in them – surefire win!

    I used to pull up weeds all the time. Now I just think – well it’s green, and we need every little bit of CO2 reduction we can get. So I just leave them be. If they are particularly aggressive and kill the plant I’m trying to grow, I just grow the plant elsewhere. And let the weed fend for itself and try and survive (how do you like that, eh? eh?).

    Like

  3. Weeds make insects happy and healthy. How many people don’t like insects too! I always wonder about those that cannot see the interconnectedness of all that makes up this planet. One day it will be abundantly clear. Polar bears matter too.

    Like

  4. My Granny used to say that a weed was just a flower growing in the wrong place….wrong for us but probably perfect for the weed. I always think about this as I mercilessly pull up weeds from my garden. Your weeds though are very pretty :-)

    Like

    1. I think I would like your granny. Some of my weeds are less pretty of course. But the more I learn about them the less I pull them, Some are edible and some do really good things for the soil. The ones with tap roots improve tilth and the ones with lots of leaves I just chop up and put back onto the soil to feed the worms and friends. Others act as aphid magnets keeping the pests off my ‘desirables.’

      Like

    1. Thank you. I really liked your comments about social media. I couldn’t agree more: give me passion even rants but please keep the self-promotion to yourself. I love the potential for real exchanges.

      Like

    1. Full disclosure: this particular indigofera is not native; it comes from China originally. I think people here see it as a weed because once it gets established it is exuberant. There are native indigoferas though and they are nearly as lovely.

      Like

    1. Thanks. It has been kind of fun trying to thinking of a word each day. I am glad I am not the only person who likes this plant. I really do think it is lovely. Not flashy, just gentle and sweet.

      Like

  5. Huzzah! You are singing to the choir in this case – I am a total sucker for pink evening primrose and bristly mallow, both of which most local folk count as weeds. “But they bloom!” says I. “They take over!” is the reply. And that is the precise point where you and I will sing together “you say that like it is a bad thing!”.

    Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

