C is for Cat (and clear conscience)

pyewackett, the innocent
Pyewackett

Once upon a time two people went to the animal shelter. Their free will had been usurped by the superior being you can see pictured to the right.

“You will find a way to have me released from this cage and you will do it promptly,” she told us — telepathically — with the voice of James Earl Jones.

I suddenly feel compelled to get a cat,” my husband said.
“Weird. I was just thinking the same thing!” I said.

Please allow me to introduce her majestic being, Pyewackett. She  grew up on the mean streets of Austin in guttersnipe conditions. Somehow, she survived all the dangers a kitten can face: cars, owls, disease, parasites, psychopaths who hurt animals for giggles …

Actually, there is no mystery. I know how she survived. She is terribly clever and she must have had a mom cat who loved her very much.

Once she became accustomed to our humble home she asked/demanded access outside. She said she needed to patrol the perimeter. We did not know what to do. Should we let her outside? What if she killed birds and lizards? But, if we kept her inside she would perish from boredom. Once you have tasted freedom can you ever forget?

Well, it seems we did not need to agonize over the decision. “A well-fed pet cat is unlikely to cause any significant damage,” according to cat expert John Bradshaw.

Feral cats of course are another story.

***

Edit:

Last  night I could hear her singing this song with some of her buddies:

And we’ll never be royals (royals).
It don’t run in our blood,
That kind of luxe just ain’t for us.
We crave a different kind of buzz.
Let me be your ruler (ruler),
You can call me queen Bee
And baby I’ll rule, I’ll rule, I’ll rule, I’ll rule.
Let me live that fantasy.

 

25 thoughts on “C is for Cat (and clear conscience)

  1. How sweet you gave her a home! Pretty cat! I would imagine she would enjoy the freedom of getting to explore outside. We do have lots of feral cats in our neighborhood, makes it challenging when they want to invade our yard with our corgi who wants to protect our yard. Visiting from A/Z/ enjoy the rest of the challenge!

    betty
    http://viewsfrombenches.blogspot.com/

    Like

    1. Late at night when she thinks nobody is watching she uses my computer to check her email and listen to music. Her favorite artist is Lorde:

      Like

  2. My two street cats forgot their freedom on the streets like a bad penny. Both came to my home in winter after years on the streets and they never wanted to go outside again. I am sure they ate quite a few birds too.

    Like

    1. There is no question that feral cats will do what they need to survive and in some places the population can be nearly out of control. And my cat is certainly not without sin. I was however relieved to hear that pets that are not hungry do not do nearly as much damage as people worry about. I have to say that our experience bears that idea out. In 12 years she has killed 2 birds to my knowledge. On the other hand I have seen evidence of hawk attacks on numerous occasions. That seems on the surface to be a good balance.

      Like

  3. I have a soft spot for cats … as my very spoiled Theo would attest to. He too was a former feral kitten and unfortunately their instinct to hunt is very powerful regardless of how well fed they are (and Theo is rather chubby).
    I suspect Pyewackett is one very lucky cat!

    Like

    1. We were lucky to find her I think. And she isn’t entirely without sin. I was just glad to hear that maybe her presence wasn’t nearly as devastating as I imagined.

      I’d love to learn more about Theo!

      Like

  4. Pyewackett! I’d wondered what happened to him after Queenie. Must be a new set of nine lives and it turns out he was a girl! Who knew?

    I don’t know about guttersnipe conditions but I have heard of bilgesnipe.

    Like

    1. =)
      Must be handy having 9 lives.
      maybe one day the Dr. will be a woman.
      B I L G E S N I P E
      I have to look that one up. Sounds terrifying and gross haha

      Like

      1. Being a fan of the Avengers, Thor mentions that Asgard’s presence on earth hasn’t helped with civilization. Visiting Asgardians fumble around like bilgesnipe, repulsive, large horned creatures that trample everything in their path. I related their repulsiveness to bilge pumps and bilge water.

        Like

  5. Our home is ruled by rescue cats as well (we respectfully decline to clarify who rescued whom). In that spirit, (and begging your indulgence) I’m going to take the liberty of directing any Central Texas readers who do not currently serve under the (mostly) benevolent reign of a supreme being to Hill Country Mysteries, where K. Scott is helping relocate two sweetheart indoor male cats since their current owner is forced to give them up. http://www.hillcountrymysteries.com/2014/03/sarge-and-mellow-and-chance-of-lifetime.html

    Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

