Bud Burst

Almost everything has budded out — everything but the pecans who are always fashionably late.

Bud burst in spring fills me with a joy that one of my favorite poets describes best:

Metamorphosis

Always it happens when we are not there–
The tree leaps up alive into the air,
Small open parasols of Chinese green
Wave on each twig. But who has ever seen
The latch sprung, the bud as it burst?
Spring always manages to get there first.

Lovers of wind, who will have been aware
Of a faint stirring in the empty air,
Look up one day through a dissolving screen
To find no star, but this multiplied green,
Shadow on shadow, singing sweet and clear.
Listen, lovers of wind, the leaves are here!

– May Sarton

cosmos

Found this bit of graffiti nearby. A spring paint-burst. Totally cosmic, dude. haha

esperanza

New esperanza (Tecoma stans) leaves. We didn’t have a freeze for several years so it grew to be about 10 feet tall but this year it only seems to be growing from the ground. When I found out that esperanza is the Spanish word for hope I thought it was a well named plant. It blooms just when the heat becomes oppressive and it is nearly impossible to lovingly/accidentally kill.

virginia creeper

Some Virginia creeper growing on a nearby fence. The leaves in spring are soft and must make an excellent salad for caterpillars.

rough leafed dogwood

A bad picture of new rough leaved dogwood leaves. This is one of my favorite all time plants. I even ordered one from a nursery before I realized the birds had already planted several in various places on the property.  Behind it you can see the new silver leaves of the Russian olive.

Unfortunately, the birds once upon a time planted this wild plant, too:

poison ivy

My neighbor’s poison ivy vine. It is 15 feet tall and a couple of years ago it nearly killed me.  Really.

mulberry bark

This is another bird planting. Some yaupon holly, dewberry, some unknown things and a mulberry that I realize I am supposed to destroy but just look at the orange color of the bark when it rains. It is really crowded in there with everything conspiring to squeeze out one of the pecan trees but it provides some nice cover and habitat for wildlife.

mulberry leaves

Mulberry leaves. You can kind of see the catkins. It looks like it will be a great year for mulberry fruit. We should see a lot of mockingbirds visiting. If I am really quick we might be able to scavenge a bit for muffins.

And last …

fringe

some color from a humanly introduced fringe flower and sage.

 

4 thoughts on “Bud Burst

    1. Heh. I can see that now that you mention it. Funny.
      I thought it was like sunbursts or unidentified interplanetary things heading toward Earth but I may have been influenced by recently watching Cosmos.
      If only the artist knew how evocative his/her construction yard doodles are. =D

      Like

  1. Oh – it isn’t all that hard to kill Tecoma Stans. I’m pretty sure I’ve killed two so far in spite of good intentions. And depending on how this year goes, the fatality count may climb to three. (some people have the gift – some people don’t)

    PS: While I’m talking fatalities – I believe you about that ivy. Friends of ours had a large tree felled by a storm. The trunk was cut into lengths which they burned in their fireplace, accidentally including a poison ivy vine (unnoticed) the fumes of which sent one of them to the hospital. Poison ivy is a bad player, no doubts.

    Like

    1. Scary. Scary.
      I can’t IMAGINE breathing in the fumes.I hope they eventually recovered.

      In my case I accidentally came in contact with the roots and it was the first time poison ivy ever bothered me. Unfortunately, some of the welts got infected and I also had to get some emergency care.

      I am now super cautious. Poison ivy in the Austin heat can be very potent.

      Full disclosure: That esperanza was originally a member of a pair. One of which did die. =/ Any plant that can survive my horticultural ‘skill’ needs to be about as tough as plastic lawn furniture.

      Like

Comments and side conversations are welcome.

